Labette County Board of Commissioners April 15, 2024

Convene

Chairman Terry Weidert called the regular session of the Labette County Board of Commissioners to order at 9:00 a.m. on April 15, 2024, at the Commission Room. Attendance: Cole J. Proehl, Present, Vincent B. Schibi, Present, Terry Weidert, Present.

Others Present for the Meeting

County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, and County Clerk Gena Landis.

Media Present

Jessica Preble from The Labette Avenue.

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to approve the minutes of April 8, 2024. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Resolution No. 2024-15-A – North Township Trustee

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to appoint Jordan Stice to replace Rod Landrum as North Township Trustee, to serve until replaced or reassigned. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Resolution No. 2024-16-A – North Township Clerk

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to appoint Joey Alexander to replace Paul Schibi as North Township Clerk, to serve until replaced or reassigned. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Resolution No. 2024-17-A - North Township Treasurer

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to appoint Paul Schibi to replace Karen Landrum as North Township Treasurer, to serve until replaced or reassigned. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Public Safety Kids Camp

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to authorize a \$75.00 donation to the Labette County Public Safety Kid's Camp payable out of the commission budget. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Recess

Commissioners recessed their meeting for four minutes, and reconvened at 9:15 a.m.

Meeting Cancellation

Commissioners agreed to cancel the commission meeting for April 29, 2024.

ARPA Discussion

Parsons Economic Development Director Jim Zaleski and Parsons Community Development Director Laura Moore, discussed ARPA funds.

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to authorize the \$2,868.14 balance left from the Sewer District #1 project to be reallocated to Care Cupboard Hygiene Pantry. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Public Transportation

Scott Christiansen and Casey Brown with SEK-CAP met with commissioners to discuss statistics of ridership over the last seven months that SEK-CAP public transportation has been available in Labette County. Commissioners will decide what the allocation will be to continue this service when they go through the budget process later in the year.

Recess

Commissioners recessed their meeting for three minutes, and reconvened at 9:45 a.m.

Public Works

Public Works Director Sandy Krider and Assistant Public Works Director Ralph George met with commissioners to discuss several items including a fuel pump that needs to be replaced, the overlay schedule for 2024 and the options for purchasing asphalt.

Executive Session

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to go into executive session for non-elected personnel, to protect the privacy of the individual(s) to be discussed. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Also present was County Counselor Brian Johnson, County Clerk Gena Landis Public Works Director Sandy Krider and Assistant Director Ralph George for a period of five minutes to reconvene at 10:31 a.m. in the commission room.

Planning & Zoning

Commissioners met with Planning & Zoning Administrator Mel Hass to discuss zoning.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting adjourned at 11:22 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. Monday, April 22, 2024.

Attest

County Clerk, Gena Landis

Chairman, Terry Weidert