Labette County Board of Commissioners November 30, 2022

Convene

Chairman Lonie R. Addis called the regular session of the Labette County Board of Commissioners to order at 10:00 a.m. on November 30, 2022 at the Commission Room. Attendance: Lonie R. Addis, Present, Cole J. Proehl, Present, Terry Weidert, Present

Others Present for the Meeting

County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, and County Clerk Gena Landis.

Media Present

Hailey Phillips from the Parsons Sun.

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Terry Weidert made a motion to approve the minutes of November 21, 2022 as submitted. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Septic System Variance

Sanitation Officer Charles Morse requested a septic variance at 3830 Main, Parsons, KS.

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to grandfather the septic system for the property located at 3830 Main under the current septic codes. It does not pose a health hazard. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Mr. Morse and Commissioners also discussed a requested septic variance at 2341 11,500 Rd, Oswego, KS. After the discussion, the Commissioners agreed to deny the request.

Burn Ban

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to rescind the burn ban that was enacted back in July for the rural areas of Labette County, plus the cities of Chetopa, Oswego and Edna. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Executive Session

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to go into executive session for non-elected personnel. To protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Others present were County Counselor Brian K. Johnson and Emergency Manager Charles Morse, for a period of twenty minutes to reconvene at 10:50 a.m. in the commission room.

Resolution 2022-59-L Rural Opportunity Zone

Commissioner Terry Weidert made a motion to approve Resolution 2022-59-L allocating \$3,000.00 to the Rural Opportunity Zone and authorize the Commission signatures. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (No), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Non-Tobacco Discount

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to remove the non-tobacco discount for insurance premiums. The maximum health insurance premium will be \$75.00 for an employee with no discounts. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (No), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Payroll

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to approve the following checks: Payroll check number 1737 and 1738 in the amount of \$4,814.98 and Direct Deposit numbers 822895 through 823012 in the amount of \$297,987.92 for a total amount of \$302,802.90. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Accounts Payable

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to approve the following checks: Accounts Payable check numbers 29426 through 29611 in the amount of \$1,046,148.10. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Executive Session

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to go into executive session for consultation with our attorney, a matter protected by the attorney-client privilege. To protect the privilege and the board's position (in litigation, potential litigation, administrative proceedings, etc.) Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Also present was County Counselor Brian K. Johnson for a period of fifteen minutes to reconvene at 12:01 a.m.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting adjourned at 12:02 p.m. until 9:00 a.m. Monday, December 5, 2022.

Attest	
County Clerk, Gena Landis	Chairman, Lonie R. Addis