Labette County Board of Commissioners July 11, 2022

Convene

Vice-Chairman Terry Weidert called the regular session of the Labette County Board of Commissioners to order at 9:00 a.m. on July 11, 2022 at the Commission Room. Attendance: Lonie R. Addis, Absent, Jury Duty, Cole J. Proehl, Present, Terry Weidert, Present

Others Present for the Meeting

County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, and County Clerk Gena Landis.

Media Present

Hailey Phillips from the Parsons Sun and Jessica Dunn from the Labette Avenue.

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to approve the minutes of June 30, 2022 as submitted. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Absent, Jury Duty), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to approve the minutes of July 1, 2022 as submitted. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Absent, Jury Duty), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to approve the minutes of July 8, 2022 as submitted. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Absent, Jury Duty), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Resolution No. 2022-33-A

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to accept Resolution 2022-33-A, amending the Employee Handbook, page 23, Paragraph (c) regarding Salaried Employees. Each salaried employee shall receive as of January 1 of each calendar year of employment, 18 days of vacation credit. Salaried employees are responsible for keeping track of their vacation credit. The County Clerk will not maintain or track any vacation credit. Upon termination, salaried employees will not receive compensation for any unused vacation credit. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (absent, Jury Duty), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Labette County Historical Society – 2023 Budget

Commissioners met with members of the Labette County Historical Society to discuss their 2023 budget request.

Labette Conservation District – 2023 Budget

Commissioners met with Labette Conservation District Manager, Elissa Robinson and Board Member Devon Foster, to discuss their 2023budget request.

Labette County Fair Board – 2023 Budget

Labette County Fair Board President David Newby and Vice-President Rick McKinzie met with Commissioners to talk about the 2022 Labette County Fair and to request 2023 Budget Funds. Some of the new improvements to the Fair grounds were discussed.

Executive Session

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to go into executive session for non-elected personnel, to protect the privacy of the individual(s) to be discussed. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Absent, Jury Duty), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Others present were County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, County Clerk Gena Landis, Bukaty Representatives Cortny Hutchison and Stephen Euston by phone and BCBS Representative Cristy Mitchell, for a period of thirty minutes to reconvene at 10:39 a.m.

Chairman Addis

Chairman Lonie R. Addis arrived at the meeting during the previous executive session at 10:18 a.m.

Executive Session

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to go into executive session for non-elected personnel, to protect the privacy of the individual(s) to be discussed. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Others present were County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, County Clerk Gena Landis, Bukaty Representatives Cortny Hutchison and Stephen Euston by phone and BCBS Representative Cristy Mitchell, for a period of twenty minutes to reconvene at 11:00 a.m.

Accounts Payable

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to approve the following checks: Accounts Payable check numbers 28168 through 28270 in the amount of \$311,199.64. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Executive Session

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to go into executive session for non-elected personnel, to protect the privacy of the individual(s) to be discussed. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Others present were County Counselor Brian K. Johnson and County Clerk Gena Landis for a period of ten minutes to reconvene at 11:30 a.m.

Complaint Committee

Chairman Lonie R. Addis made a motion to appoint Dispatch Director Brandy Scott and Public Works Director Sandy Krider to the Complaint Committee; one supervisory employee will be jointly chosen by these two department heads to be on the committee also. Terry Weidert seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

According to the Labette County Personnel Policy, the Complaint Committee shall convene within fifteen (15) working days of appointment to consider the complaint. The complaint committee shall submit its findings to the employee and department head or supervisor within fifteen (15) working days after its meeting.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting adjourned at 11:56 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. Tuesday, July 12, 2022.

Attest	
County Clerk, Gena Landis	Vice-Chairman, Terry Weidert